Review: GF Betty Crocker Cookies

Chocolate chip cookies are one of my favorite desserts and finding out that I needed to cut gluten out of my diet meant I couldn’t have chocolate chip cookies anymore. ): But! I was in the grocery store the other day and came across Betty Crocker Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookie Mix! At that moment I was the happiest child on earth. 

I wasn’t quite sure how these cookies would turn out since gluten-free products don’t always have the best texture and flavor. However, to my surprise, these cookies tasted great! When I first bit into the cookie it had the consistency of a peanut butter cookie but as the flavors sinked in, it began to taste like a good ol’ chocolate chip cookie. Another thing I found interesting about gluten-free products is that they get really hard—really fast. That was not the problem with these cookies, although after a few days they did harden up a bit, they had the moist consistency of normal cookies. 

Anyways, I wasn’t quite sure how to write a review for this but I decided the best option would be to break it down for you. 

  • Texture: Soft and moist like a normal chocolate chip cookie. However, the cookie did crumble a bit when I took the first bite. 
  • Consistency: Overall the cookie had a good consistency. The dough ingredients were all around the same size (in granules) so it made the cookie have the same texture throughout the cookie.  
  • Batter: My friends and I were concerned when we were making these cookies because the batter didn’t seem to have enough liquid to hold the cookies together. Although it says on the box “dough will be crumbly” I had no idea that it would be super crumbly. Basically to get the cookies into the right shape, you had to use the techniques you would use to make hamburger patties—aka take a handful of dough and smush it together so it looks like a patty. 
  • Life Span: I would say these cookies lasted a good 3-4 days. For the last cookie I heated it up in the microwave to make it seem like the cookie was fresh out of the oven. 
  • Flavor: Like I said above, these cookies tasted like a traditional chocolate chip cookie. Although at first I thought I was biting into a peanut butter cookie, my tastes buds finally registered that I was eating a chocolate chip cookie—not a peanut butter one. 
  • Cooking Time: I found that these cookies needed about 5-7 extra minutes to cook because at the 8 minute mark they still looked raw. This wasn’t a bad decision because the cookies were perfect when they came out. Not too hard, yet not too gooey. 

Nutrition Information:

•150 calories/ 2 cookies

Leave a Reply

