Blueberry Oatmeal

My favorite breakfast to make before school is oatmeal. I posted an oatmeal breakfast earlier this week but I thought I should add another variety.

This morning I decided to make a hearty bowl of oatmeal topped with a handful of blueberries and a sprinkle of brown sugar.  It was delicious. The blueberries are warmed up by the heat of the oatmeal, making the flavor really come out. I don’t like to smother my oatmeal in brown sugar so just adding a small spoonful is perfect. 

I make my oatmeal in the microwave because it takes the least amount of time and while its cooking I have time to prepare my lunch or get the rest of my ingredients ready to top off my oatmeal. I also like to make my oatmeal with water instead of milk. I find that when using a microwave it is better to use water for the oatmeal. If you have time and want to make it on the stove then milk is a good option. I don’t like my oatmeal to be soupy so I tend to use less water than what is recommended—around 3/4 cup instead of the full 1 cup. 

Ingredients:

1/2 cup raw oats

3/4 cup-1 cup of water 

1/3 cup blueberries

1 tsp brown sugar

Directions:

In a microwave safe bowl add the oatmeal and water. Microwave for 2-2 1/2 minutes on high or until the oatmeal starts to bubble from within. When its done cooking top with blueberries and brown sugar.

I always like to have a cold glass of unsweetened iced tea or water for breakfast. This morning I chose tea (: 

Leave a Reply

