Apple Pie Oatmeal

One of my favorite after school snacks is apples with cinnamon sugar (: mmmm. This morning I thought I should share another one of my experimental oatmeal recipes! I have seen many apple pie oatmeal recipes but I had never tried them, but with a butt load of apples in my fridge, I thought what the heck! 

I didn’t really know the apple to oatmeal ratio for this concoction but I think I added just the right amount. The apples here in Japan are quite large so I only needed 2 slices for a 1/3 cup of oats. But, now that I think about it, I think it would have been even more delicious if there were more apple chunks and if I cut them into smaller pieces.

image

When it came time to pop the oatmeal into the microwave I wasn’t sure if if the apples should cook too or if I should add them when the oatmeal is done. But, I made the right call. Adding the apples into the oatmeal before it cooks for 2 minutes allows the apples to soften up and warm just like apple pie!   

image

When the timer ding-ed I knew it was time to top off my oatmeal and dig in!

image

Now I only added cinnamon, but I think milk, a little brown sugar, or maybe even peanut butter would have been great toppings! (I might have to try peanut butter & apple oatmeal. oh yum!) The cooked apples were so delicious in this oatmeal and the cinnamon added a little kick to the already delicious flavor. 

image

This recipe is super healthy and filling. I ate around 6:45am and it kept me full until around 11am. Try it and let me know what you think! 

Nutritional Information:

•125 Calories    •1.8g fat         •24.5 carbohydrates  
•3.7g protein     •3.5g sugar    • 4.7g fiber
Leave a Reply

