Bagels

MMMM Bagels (: My mom sent me a gluten-free bread mix last week and on the back of the package was a recipe for…you guessed it…Bagels. It took 5 minutes to create the dough and 20 minutes to cook (with an hour of rising in between), so these puppies are quick! 

First thing to do is combine all the ingredients into a mixing bowl. You need one package of Pamela’s Bread Mix, 1-1/3 cups of warm water, 1/4 cup oil ( I used olive oil) and the yeast package that comes inside of the bread mix. Can you believe that is all you need? How easy is that! 

Once the dough has reached a uniform consistency, use a 1/2 cup measuring cup and divide the dough up into 7 balls. You should flatten them to look like a bagel, but keep in mind they will rise. 

After the bagels rise for an hour, use a knife or a spoon to cut out holes in the center of the bagels. The insides of the 7 bagels creates enough dough to make one extra bagel! Yippie! 

Preheat the oven to 400˚F and in a medium pot boil enough water to immerse the bagels. Once the water is boiling, drop the bagels—one at a time—into the water for 20 seconds. Then transfer to a WELL GREASED cookie sheet. I need to emphasize how important it is to grease the cookie sheet, because the first time I made these, I got a good arm workout trying to scrape the bagels off of the cookie sheet. So grease it well! I just smeared about a tablespoon of olive oil over the sheet. 

Bake in the oven for 20-25 minutes (I did 21 min). Once they are done, let them cool (or eat right away). I recommend storing the bagels in the freezer so they last longer, but if you plan on eating them quickly, storing them in the fridge is fine too. 

Although the bagels are a little dense, they are quite fluffy! I was surprised that a gluten free bagel could taste so good and be airy inside! I love topping my bagels with a little cream cheese. 

I made these bagels last night and this morning I had one with my breakfast. I had one egg over-medium, a gluten-free bagel, 1/2 fuji apple and a 1/2 tablespoon cream cheese. 

This breakfast was so good and filling it lasted me all the way to lunch! 

Leave a Reply

