Gluten-Free Chipotle Black Bean Burgers

Black Bean Burgers. I haven’t really heard much about or even had a black bean burger until now. I always thought they wouldn’t taste very good, but you can’t really judge anything unless you try it!

Last week we met up with my cousins for dinner and they took us to one of their favorite places. My cousin is on the vegan diet and said the black bean burger was amazing and that I had to try it. So I took the opportunity to escape my comfort zone and try something new. I ordered the black bean burger (without the bun) with cheese and a side of sweet potato fries (my guilty pleasure). It was TO DIE FOR. Now I know it might not have been a home made burger, but it was still good. After having that little slice of heaven I looked up a recipe for black bean burgers and decided I was going to make my own. 

The recipe I found came from Iowa Girl Eats . The burgers looked so good in the pictures and the reviews were great! I didn’t follow the recipe completely though, since I made a double batch I added different amounts of the ingredients. In the end, I was able to make 10 black bean patties. 

Read More to see the recipe! 

To make the chipotle black bean burgers, you need: • 2 (15oz) cans of black beans • 1/2 onion, roughly chopped • 1 chipotle pepper + 2-3 tsp adobo sauce • 3 garlic cloves • 1 tsp cumin • 1/2 tsp salt • 1 1/2 cup corn kernels • 1/2 cup salsa • 1 1/2 cup gluten free bread crumbs 

Directions: (If you prefer SnapGuide click HERE!)

1. Combine 1 can of black beans (strained), the chopped onion, chipotle pepper, garlic, cumin and salt in a food processor and blend.

image

image

image

2. Pour mixture into bowl and add the other can of strained black beans, corn, salsa, bread crumbs and egg and mix together.

image

image

image

image

image

3. Form the mixture into patties and place them on a lined tray ( I recommend parchment paper).image

4. Place the burgers in the fridge or freezer until you are ready to cook them
5. Cook over medium-high heat in a pan for 5-6 minutes on each side.

6. Top with your favorite fixings and dig in! ( I topped mine with a little cheese, tomato and lettuce. It was delicious) 

imageIf you want to save the recipe: Right click the photo, and click Save As!

Leave a Reply

