Kale Chips! (Two Types!)

I have never been a huge fan of kale, but ever since I got home my mom has been making tons of kale salad. I used to not like the texture and bitterness of kale, but when its added to a salad you don’t notice the texture or taste. 

The other day I tried to go strawberry picking. The farm was unfortunately closed for strawberry picking, but they had an amazing little market with all the freshly harvested fruits and vegetables (including strawberries)! My mom and I arrived just as they were adding freshly cut kale to the abundance of produce. The kale came in a ginormous bunch—about 5 times the size of a normal grocery store sized bunch—and it was only 89 cents compared to the 4 dollar grocery store bunch. Can you believe that!? Hopefully we will be able to eat all the kale before it goes bad! 

Anyways, I decided to make kale chips out of the fresh kale. I’ve seen a lot of posts about kale chips and how good they are so I thought I should jump on the band wagon. Last time I made kale chips they were disgusting. The kale was still bitter and they had no good flavor at all. So I was a little apprehensive this time around. But, to make sure I would have a good tasting batch of chips, I decided to add extra flavor to them: parmesan cheese for one batch and roasted red pepper for the second batch. I’m not a huge fan of spicy foods, so I made the red pepper batch for my dad and brother (hopefully they will like them). 

Parmesan Kale Chips

• 1 bunch of kale 

•  Olive Oil Cooking Spray (regular olive oil works too)

• 2 tablespoons parmesan cheese

• 1-2 teaspoons kosher salt

Roasted Red Pepper 

• 1 bunch of kale 

•  Olive Oil Cooking Spray (regular olive oil works too)

•  Roasted red pepper flakes (as much as you like)

• 1-2 teaspoons kosher salt

Baking Directions: 

~ Preheat oven to 350F

~ Wash and break off kale leaves from the stem

~ Pat dry and set aside 

~ Spray a baking tray with olive oil 

~ Spread out kale on the baking tray and lightly top with olive oil spray. Then sprinkle salt and parmesan cheese or roasted red pepper flakes on top. 

~ Bake in the oven for 10 minutes or until the kale starts to turn a little brown. 

Left: Roasted Red Pepper Kale Chips

Right: Parmesan Kale Chips

Leave a Reply

