Zucchini & Farmers Cheese Fritters

Don’t worry, I didn’t know what farmers cheese was until about yesterday when my mom bought it at the grocery store. Thinking it was like Japanese cottage cheese (less runny than the American kind) she bought it and tried it. However, it didn’t taste right. To me it tasted like a mix of cottage cheese and cream cheese, a little sweet with a bumpy texture…that actually sounds gross now that I have described it. But really, its not that bad when you use it in recipes! 

I tried to figure out what to do with the farmers cheese but the only recipes I could find were for cheese cakes, blintzes and Russian pancakes. I’m not a huge fan of cheese cake, and the other two are glutenous so researching recipes didn’t do me any good. So I took measures into my own hands and created a recipe from scratch. 

Not only did my recipe include only 4 ingredients, it didn’t take long to make at all! I was so excited with how my fritters turned out and how they tasted! In Japan I had zucchini and feta cheese fritters that were delicious, so I put my own spin on these babies; and man did I do a good job. This recipe, unlike a lot of gluten free recipes, doesn’t contain a grocery list of ingredients with strange names. All the ingredients in my recipe are probably in your fridge right now…except for the farmers cheese of course. 

Anyways, all you need for this recipe is:

• 1 medium zucchini

• 1/2 of an egg (mix the whole egg first and then divide it in half)

• 1/3 cup farmers cheese

• 1/2 tablespoon olive oil
Here’s How to make them! Or Check out my SnapGuide on these fritters! 
1) Gather and prep ingredients. To get the zucchini ready, grate it and then squeeze out the excess water using paper towels. I found that it works best to lay the shredded zucchini between two paper towels to remove the water. For the egg, crack it and beat it until it is scrambled. You will only need to use half of the scrambled egg. 
2) Combine the ingredients together and mix until it is at a uniform consistency
3) In a pan add the 1/2 tablespoon of olive oil and heat over medium heat
4) I used a 1 inch ice cream scoop to make the fritters, but you can use spoons too. Scoop out the mix into the pan and using your fingers flatten the fritters out so it looks like a pancake. After about 5 minutes, the bottom side should be fully cooked depending on how hot your stove is. Flip over and cook for another 5 minutes.
5) When the fritters are done, lay on a paper towel to remove the excess olive oil.
~Ps. These taste good hot & cold! 
image

I was able to get 7 fritters out of this batch of fritters. Feel free to top these with a dollop of sour cream or whatever your favorite topping is! 

One thought on “Zucchini & Farmers Cheese Fritters

Leave a Reply

