Day 3: Steel Cut Oats, Dessert

Sorry for the late day 3 post, but I was out all day running errands with my mom and watching my brothers soccer game (they won 4-1!) 

Anyways, today’s challenge was to make a dessert using steel cut oats. Before I started this, I didn’t think steel cut oats were any different than the oats that Quaker makes. However, I soon found out that these oats are cut differently than rolled oats, and aren’t soft, but very hard. 

I began my challenge, by creating an oat flour. I used my VitaMix blender for dry ingredients and added 1 cup of raw steel cut oats. This made enough for over two cups of oat flour. 

image

My brother, Grant,  and I love these gluten-free cookies that we buy at Central Market. They are the bomb. These cookies combine my two favorite things: creamy peanut butter & semi sweet chocolate chips. Ah my mouth is watering just thinking about them! My goal for today was to recreate these cookies and disguise them in the real cookie box and see if Grant could tell the difference. Hehe I’m so sneaky :P

image

I thought the regular M&M’s weren’t necessary in these cookies, if there were already chocolate chips and Peanut Butter M&M’s so I omitted them from my recipe. 

Are you ready to make the most amazing, gooey and chewy Monster Cookies? 

Lets begin shall we? This recipe makes about 12 delicious cookies 

Ingredients:

• 48 grams of oat flour (made using steel cut oats), if you want you can use any gluten-free flour instead of oat flour

• 1/8 tsp salt

• 1/4 tsp baking soda

• 1/4 tsp baking powder

• 1/4 cup butter, melted

• 1/4 cup xylitol (or regular sugar)

• 1/8 cup brown sugar

• 1/2 egg, beaten 

• 1/4 cup peanut butter

• 2 tbsp mini chocolate chips 

• 1 package of peanut butter M&Ms 

• 1 cup rolled oats (quick oats, work the best because they are smaller than regular rolled oats) 

image

image

How To: 

1) Preheat oven to 350F

2) In a small bowl combine flour, salt, baking soda and baking powder. 

3) In another bowl melt the butter. Then add both sugars and stir until dissolved. Once they are dissolved, add the peanut butter and egg and mix again.

4) Once all the wet ingredients are combined, add the flour mixture to the wet ingredients. Stir until it creates a uniform dough. Then add the rolled oats (or quick oats)

5) Place on a lined or greased cookie sheet and bake for 16-17 minutes.

image

image

Recipe Notes:

•They will be gooey when they come out so I recommend you let them rest for 20 minutes before you eat them or else they will just fall apart.

image

So after I finished baking these cookies, I put them in the real monster cookie box. When grant came home from soccer I asked him if he wanted a cookie, so I gave him one of the mock monster cookies. HE COULDN’T EVEN TELL THE DIFFERENCE! I feel so accomplished. Now we don’t have to spend almost 6-7 dollars on a box of cookies! Yay! 

Leave a Reply

