Day 5: Savory Sweet Potato Fries with Truffle Mayo

Well, unfortunately I learned that some creations aren’t as good as others. Today’s challenge was to create a savory sweet potato dish. Sweet potato fries are my all time favorite side dish, so I decided to make them.

 

Now, don’t do what I did. Do not use corn starch. I saw recipes for sweet potato fries using corn starch to create crispy fries, but it DID NOT work. The corn starch gave these fries a gross texture. I was so disappointed. I ruined my sweet potato fries ): But there is always a bright side, I usually make these fries by tossing them in olive oil. So if you are looking to make some savory sweet potato fries, than JUST use olive oil. 

The type of sweet potato you use really matters. The American sweet potatoes (aka yams) are actually sweet. Whereas Japanese sweet potatoes have a much milder taste, and are a little less gooey if you know what I mean. We found Japanese sweet potatoes at our local grocery store, however I do not think they are in season anymore, so they might be hard to find. 

Makes enough for 4 people

Ingredients: 

• 1 medium & 1 small sweet potato 

• 1 tbsp olive oil

• Salt & Pepper to taste 

Preheat oven to 400F 

Chop up the sweet potatoes (i used a small and a medium potato) into wedges. 

Line a baking tray with oven paper, and lay the sweet potato fries on the tray. Brush with olive oil. (Do not add corn starch which is shown in picture)

Bake at 400F for 30-35 minutes or until golden brown. It is best to flip them over 20-25 minutes through. 

Truffle Mayo: 

In a small bowl combine 1/4 cup mayonnaise, 1 tbsp ground pepper and 1/4 tsp truffle oil. Stir together and place in fridge until sweet potatoes are ready. 

Remove sweet potatoes from oven and eat up! They taste so good (without the corn starch of course!) 

I had my sweet potato fries with my Chipotle Black Bean Burger, a side of cantaloupe and a slice of tomato. 

Hope you enjoy! I promise you they taste much better than they look in these pictures (:

Leave a Reply

