Day 9: Cinnamon Rice pudding with Crunchy Shirataki Noodles

Success! I’m finally out of my rut. Although I was a little worried about today’s challenge, it turned out to be perfect and delicious! Today I had to make a dessert using Shirataki (Tofu) Noodles. At first I was super worried because I had no idea what type of dessert I could make using those noodles. 

My friend Sydney and I decided to make a rice pudding, and then put the noodles on top to add an extra crunchy texture. I contacted the creator of NoOdles, a brand of shirataki noodles, and asked her if she had any dessert recipes. Luckily she came to my rescue and gave me two great recipes! Since we already had the rice pudding cooking, Sydney and I decided to use her crunchy noodle recipe for the extra texture on our rice pudding. We also topped the crunchy noodles with cinnamon sugar to give them a sweeter taste. 

Rice Pudding Recipe:

1.5 cups milk

1 cup rice

1.5 tsp cinnamon

pinch of salt

2 tablespoons xylitol 

~ Combine all ingredients into a medium sauce pan and bring to a boil. Once the mixture is boiling, bring it down to a simmer and let it cook for 30 minutes. Make sure to stir occasionally. 

Crunchy Shirataki Noodles

1/4 package of shirataki noodles

~ Drain, strain and rinse the shirataki noodles

~ Pat dry with a paper towel and place into a medium pan

~ Don’t add any extra liquid into the pan. The point of cooking these noodles is to remove all the liquid so they become crunchy. It takes about 10-15 minutes for these noodles to become super crispy. They actually taste like the mini wheat cereal! 

Leave a Reply

