Day 12: Carne Asada & Black Beans Tacos

Challenge: Black Beans, Lunch

image

Mmmm Tacos. I absolutely love soft corn tacos. My favorite are fish tacos, and then carnitas tacos. I’ve never tried or made carne asada (steak) tacos but these were a success! I topped my tacos with spiced black beans, mexican cheese, coleslaw and sour cream. 

image

Before I start, let me just say that I highly recommend using canned black beans instead of trying to cook them on your own. Black beans take about 8 hours to become soft and thats a long time! I ended up trying the “fast method” which didn’t work at all. I rinsed and boiled the black beans for 5 minutes and then let them soak in water for about 6 hours. This wasn’t enough time, so by the time I started cooking they were still a little hard. 

These beans are great by themselves or as a topping. These beans would be great on top of a salad, in a quesadilla or in a soup/stew. 

To make the beans, I used:

• 2 small cloves of garlic, chopped 

• 1/2 red onion, chopped

• about 1.5 cups of black beans, self cooked (or use 1 can)

• 2 cups chicken stock 

• 1/4 tsp cumin

• 1/4 tsp chili pepper

~ In a pot, add 1 tbsp butter, chopped onions and chopped garlic. Cook for 3 minutes, constantly stirring. 

~ Add the beans, chicken stock, cumin and chili pepper. Let it cook for about 20 minutes over medium-high heat. 

image

Leave a Reply

