Day 13: Oatmeal Chocolate Chip “Scone” Cookies

Day 13 Challenge: Teff Flour, Sweet

Hey Guys! So today I decided to make oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. I am a huge fan of gooey and chewy cookies, not crispy and fragile cookies. When these cookies came out of the oven I could tell they were going to super chewy (: 

After tasting the cookies,  I realized (well my mom actually) that these cookies taste more like scones than cookies. The softness reminds me of scones, but the flavor is rich and sweet like chocolate chip cookies. Therefore I decided to call them “scone” cookies. 

I found this recipe in my The Healthy Gluten-Free Life cookbook.  Originally I was going to make snicker doodle cookies, but once the dough was made I changed my mind to oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. I also changed the recipe a lot since the original recipe didn’t have any butter or eggs because the cookbook is dairy, gluten and egg free. However, these cookies turned out fantastic! I would add a little extra something to mask the slightly bitter after taste of the teff flour. But, I haven’t figured out what I could use…update on that later. 

Makes: 16 cookies 

Ingredients: 

• 1/4 cup brown rice flour

• 1/4 cup teff flour

• 1/4 cup sorghum flour

• 1/3 cup tapioca starch

• 1/2 tsp xanthan gum

• 1/2 tsp baking soda

• 1 tsp cream of tartar

• 1/2 cup butter

• 1/3 cup sugar (I used xylitol)

•  2 tbsp hot water

• 1 egg

• 1/3 cup gluten free rolled oats

• 1/4 cup mini chocolate chips

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 350F

2. In a small bowl combine all the dry ingredients except chocolate chips and oats and mix together. 

3. In another bowl or a stand mixer beat butter, sugar, water and eggs. Gradually add the flour mixture once the wet ingredients are fully combined. 

4) Add the oatmeal and chocolate chips and mix together using a rubber spatula. 

5) Using a 1 inch scoop or spoons, scoop the cookie dough onto a lined cookie sheet. These cookies wont spread out so you can put them close together. 

6) Bake in the oven for 16 minutes

I only baked 12 cookies and put the rest of the dough in the freezer for later ;) 

Other flavor ideas:

• Cranberry Orange

• Oatmeal raisin, blueberry or dried cranberry

Leave a Reply

