Day 15: Cinnamon Chia Seed Pudding

Today: Chia Seeds, Lunch

Have you ever experimented with chia seeds? Because I haven’t and I really had no clue what I could make with these tiny seeds except to create my own CHIA PET. However chia pets aren’t edible, so I really had no idea what to cook up. 

After scrolling for what seemed like hours, I finally decided that there were no actual “lunch” recipes using chia seeds, but I found plenty of snacks containing the little seeds. 

If you don’t know what chia seeds are, they are small poppy seed like seeds that are nutritious and tasteless. If you put them in water, they expand to about 3 times their original size and become soft and easy to eat. If you are egg-free you can substitute chia seeds in your recipes! Combine 1 tablespoon of chia seeds with 3 tablespoons of water to create the perfect egg substitute! 

But back to what I actually made, Cinnamon Vanilla Chia Seed Pudding. I think I overdosed on cinnamon in this recipe, so I am going to lower the amount for your sake in case you want to make this pudding too! I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk because normal milk upsets my stomach and I am not allowed to have soy milk. If you want to use a “milk” other than almond milk, try coconut milk that you can find in the same section as almond milk (any flavor) or the really thick coconut milk that comes in a can.I think a chocolate chia pudding would taste good too, so you could always add cocoa powder or buy the chocolate flavor of your preferred milk. 

To make the pudding you will need: (I halved the actual recipe because I didn’t know if I was going to like it and I didn’t want to be wasteful)

• 1/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
• 1/8 tsp cinnamon (I used 1/4 tsp so if you really like cinnamon, go ahead and use 1/4 tsp)
• dash of vanilla extract
• 1 tablespoon chia seeds

Mix all the ingredients together and place it in the fridge for a couple hours or until it becomes thick like pudding. I suggest stirring it every so often too (: 

Close up of what the chia seeds look like after spending a couple hours in the fridge :)

Leave a Reply

