Day 17: Thai Coconut Peanut Chicken Soup

image

Boy thats already a mouth full to say. Let me break it down for you. This soup is a the typical coconut soup (minus the insane amount of spicy flavors) with chicken that has been marinated using a few different peanut flavors. See, its much simpler than it sounds. 

I need to rewind a little bit. If you haven’t already used your context clues to figure out what todays challenge is, allow me to bold face it for you. A soup using peanuts. 

What are the odds of pulling peanuts and soup…what an strange combination. How in the world am I suppose to make a soup using peanuts? Those were the questions running through my head this morning after I drew my challenge. As I pondered my mind for a soup idea, I thought of creating a Thai soup!

A lot of Thai dishes incorporate peanuts. Wether its in a sauce form or a powder, it seems fairly simple to incorporate it into a dish. The original coconut chicken soup that you find at a Thai restaurants is way to spicy for me. I can barely even handle chili guys…so you know I really can’t deal with Thai spices. Therefore, I decided to make this soup SUPER mild. However, if your mouth can handle a third degree burn from spices, be my guest and add as much as you like. 

Anyways, enough ranting. Lets get to the recipe, shall we?

I followed a basic Thai Chicken-Coconut Soup from the cookbook: Easy Soups. However, I didn’t add a few ingredients and substituted some too. 

Ingredients: Chicken Marinade:

  • 2 boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into cubes
  • 1 tablespoon peanut butter 
  • 1.5 tablespoon satay peanut sauce (I bought mine from Trader Joe’s)
  • 1 tsp sweet chili sauce
  • 1 tbsp peanut oil

image

~ Cut up chicken breast into cubes and place inside a large gallon size ziplock bag. 

~ Add peanut butter, satay peanut sauce and sweet chili sauce. I recommend microwaving the peanut butter for 30 seconds in order for it to coat the chicken easier. 

image

~ Shake the bag around for a few minutes in order for the chicken to be evenly coated. You can even massage it into the chicken. 

image

~ Place marinated chicken into the fridge until you are ready to cook. I recommend you marinate the chicken 3-4 hours in advance. 

How to cook:

~ In a large sauce pan, add the peanut oil and let it heat up. 

~ Add chicken to pan. I suggest cooking the chicken in batches. I cooked the chicken about 5 minutes on each side or until the chicken was golden brown. Once both sides are cooked, place in a dish and set aside until all chicken is done. 

image

image

image

image

Ingredients: Soup

  • 1.5 packages of shirataki tofu noodles (you can use cellophane noodles too to make it a more traditional Thai dish)
  • 5 cups chicken stock
  • 1 lemon grass stalk, crushed
  • 2 small Thai green peppers, deseeded and thinly sliced
  • 1/2 inch long piece of ginger, pealed and finely diced
  • Cooked peanut-marinated chicken 
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1 tbsp fresh lime juice
  • 1 handful of snow pea shoots
  • 4 scallions, diagonally sliced
  • 2 mushrooms chopped 

image

~ In a large pot bring chicken stock to a boil. 

~ Add crushed lemon grass stalk and let it simmer for 5 minutes.

~ Add green peppers, diced ginger 

image

~ Add the coconut milk

image

~Add the scallions, mushrooms and snow pea shoots image

~ Add in the rinsed shirataki noodles 

image

~ Add the chicken 

image

You’re done! This dish is best served right after you make it! I added the chicken right before I was about to serve it to my mom and dad to make sure the chicken wouldn’t get overcooked. 

image

Leave a Reply

