Day 21: Oatmeal Pecan Chocolate Chip Cookies (with Flax too!)

image

Yay for Friday! The weekend is finally here, well not for me. Basically every week is a weekend for me (: 

image

image

Today my grandma and I baked oatmeal pecan chocolate chip cookies with flax seed. My challenge was to use oats and make something sweet. I’m staring at the left over cookie dough and it look absolutely delicious. I could eat the whole bowl right now, but I won’t because I probably wouldn’t feel too good after eating it. But, I guess I will just have to wait for them to come out of the oven. 

image

image

This recipe is just your basic oatmeal cookie recipe but with additional ingredients (: To add a nutty flavor and another texture, my grandma and I decided to add chopped pecans. We also added flax to bump up the healthiness of these cookies (although it probably wasn’t much). This recipe makes a lot of cookies so beware. If you are making these for an event this recipe is perfect for a lot of guests. However if you want to make these cookies for your family or just have a cookie craving and don’t want a ton of cookies, then you can cut the recipe down. 

image

We used:

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp milk
  • 3/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup GF flour
  • 1 tbsp flax seed meal 
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp kosher salt
  • 2 cups quick oats
  • 2 cups rolled oats (you can also just use 4 cups of regular oats)
  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans 

image

~ To begin, preheat your oven to 375F and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or baking spray. 

~ In a medium bowl beat butter and both sugars until fully combined. Then add eggs, milk and vanilla. 

~ Once the wet ingredients are mixed together add the flour, flax, salt. Mix using either your stand mixer or hand mixer

~ Fold in the oats, chocolate chips and pecans

~ Roll into 1 inch balls and place on the cookie sheet. Make sure to spread them out incase the cookies spread out. Bake for 13-15 minutes or until golden brown and to your liking. 

image

image

Leave a Reply

