Day 23: Breakfast Smoothie

Unfortunately I couldn’t find any kohlrabi in New Mexico…However I did manage to get my hands on some spinach which is sort of similar to kohlrabi. 

This morning my challenge was to make a breakfast using kohlrabi but I am substituting spinach. (sorry guys) When you’re in rush to get out of the door in the morning, what better way to start the day then to make a filling and delicious breakfast smoothie! My favorite smoothies combine green vegetables, like spinach, along with frozen fruit, yogurt, nut butter and a little almond. 

There are many benefits of making your own smoothie at home instead of buying one from a shop. For one, you don’t add any extra sugar to your smoothie. All the sugar is natural unlike what you find at smoothie shops. If you make your smoothies with fruit juice, like orange juice, you are adding more sugar to your drink. That is why I like to use unsweetened almond milk because the smoothie is already sweet enough without all the extra sugar from fruit juices, honey or other sweeteners. Another benefit is that you know exactly what is going into your smoothie. I’ve seen smoothies being made at shops where they just pour some liquid into a blender and add ice and boom there is your smoothie. But with a home made smoothie you know there are actually bananas, strawberries and blueberries in your drink. 

My smoothies are like snowflakes. Every smoothie I make is different from the previous one. Maybe one day it is a little fruiter for example. I never measure out my ingredients, I just add as much of a certain ingredient as I like and go from there. 

This morning’s smoothie had: (this is a rough estimate..) (makes enough for 2)

2 cup raw spinach

1/4 cup 0% Fage Greek Yogurt

1 tablespoon almond butter

1 frozen banana

5 strawberries

1/4-1/2 cup almond milk (you have to eye ball it) 

I typically don’t add ice to my smoothies because it waters them down and sometimes the blender cannot break down all the ice chunks, leaving little crunchy bits in my smoothie. :( However, I do use frozen fruit, which mimics what the ice does but doesn’t make the smoothie runny. 

One suggestion I have for you smoothie lovers is to try adding raw rolled oats or protein powder to your smoothie. It helps to thicken the smoothie and also helps to make the smoothie more filling. Now I on the other hand don’t add protein powder because I don’t like the texture of it in my smoothies. I’ve tried oats once but I didn’t blend the smoothie enough so it was a little too chunky for my liking. 

Leave a Reply

