Day 26: Mini Pizza!

iiittssss pizzzaa timmeeee. 

Ever since I was little my family would make home made pizzas every Sunday night. When we first lived in Japan all the neighborhood kids would come over for pizza and we would hangout, play games and eat really good pizza. 

For some strange reason my favorite pizza topping when I was younger was hot dogs…don’t ask me how I even thought of the combination. I actually haven’t had a hot dog pizza in years now that I think of it…

Anyways today I had to make lunch using coconut flour. Strangely enough, my first idea was pizza. I think I got the idea because I saw pizza sauce in the fridge along with mozzarella cheese. I mean the ingredients were basically yelling at me to make a pizza. 

The pizzas turned out better than I expected. I read on the coconut flour package that you should use double the liquid when using coconut flour, so I took that into consideration too. there are no strange ingredients in this pizza dough recipe and you can add extra ingredients and spices depending on how you like your pizza to taste. I used garlic powder and basil leaves to give my pizza a great taste. 

Ingredients: Makes 3 mini 2 inch pizzas

1/4 cup coconut flour

1 egg, beaten

1/8 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp basil leaves 

1/3 cup mozzarella cheese

2 tbsp pizza sauce (approx.) 

extra pizza toppings

How:

Preheat oven to 400F

1) combine the ingredients into a small mixing bowl until it forms a dough. It won’t have the texture of traditional pizza dough so don’t worry if it looks crumbly.

2) Roll out onto a floured surface and use a biscuit cut out to make the mini pizza. 

3) Add a little olive oil to the top of the dough circles and bake the dough in the oven at 350 for 5 minutes. (I put them in the oven when it was still preheating)

4) Remove and top with your favorite pizza toppings. I used mozzarella cheese on two and chicken and mexican cheese on the other. 

5) Bake in the oven for 8-10 minutes. 

Leave a Reply

