Strawberry Lime Agua Fresca

There is one thing I look forward to every summer in Maine. (besides seeing all my summer friends) The agua frescas from El El Frijoles.

El El Frijoles is an amazing Mexican restaurant in a small town in Maine. Their tacos are to die for and so are the burritos. Sadly I can’t have the burritos anymore because they are not gluten free. Thats okay though because I can just indulge in carnitas tacos. (: 

Anyways, back to the Main(e) point (hehe). Every Thursday there is a farmers market in Castine where El El frijoles has a booth. They serve delicious burritos, chips and many varieties of salsa. My favorite is the mango salsa. I could eat that all day long. They also serve amazing drinks called agua frescas. Its basically a fruity water drink. The always have different flavors each week so you never know what you are going to get. My favorite ones are the hibiscus and the cucumber & mint. They add a little sugar to their drinks too so I added just a little bit of splenda to mine. 

The first step is to figure out what flavor you want to make. I decided to use strawberries and lime. Mint tastes amazing in these drinks too so I would recommend adding that, I didn’t have any at the moment. 

I used 3 large strawberries and cut them into pieces. Then I mashed them a little so the juices would be easier to extract in the water. 

Then I added them to my 24oz jar. Along with the juice and skin of a 1/3 of lime. 

Fill the jug up with water and place in the fridge for 2 hours. When you are ready to drink the agua fresca, strain it and then drink up! You can also leave the fruit in if you want to add another texture to your drink. 

After two hours or more its time to strain the water!

Pour yourself a glass and top it of with some of the fruit you strained out. This drink was delicious! 

Leave a Reply

