Dish Society, Houston

Sunday mornings are the perfect time to go out to breakfast with the family, so this morning my family and I decided to check out a restaurant called Dish Society. I follow a Houston foodie Instagram account and their most recent post was of this place. I checked out their menu yesterday and saw that they offered gluten-free pancakes and I just had to try them (:

Dish Society (DS) is a quaint restaurant that serves farm-to-table type dishes using local ingredients. As I walked into DS I was surprised at how loud it was. I guess everyone likes to go out for breakfast on a rainy sunday morning, so it didn’t bug me very much. This place is not a sit down and order type of place. You place your order at the counter, receive a number and then pick a table. Later on the meal is brought to you. If you want to see their breakfast menu click here. They also serve brunch, lunch and dinner (:

I ordered the pancakes. My meal came with 3 medium sized pancakes topped with sliced fruit and served with a side of maple syrup. My mom ordered their “Build Your Own Breakfast” and had a breakfast taco with avocado and spinach. Lastly, my dad ordered the steak and eggs but that wasn’t gluten free.

Our food was delivered quickly and I was overly excited to dig into my gluten free pancakes. As I took my first bite I was amazed at how, well amazing they tasted.

IMG_1366

IMG_1367

It was like I was eating McDonalds pancakes if you have ever tried those.  I had a feeling it was too good to be true so I had my mom try a few bites to see what she thought. We clarified with the waiter that my pancakes were gluten free and they brought me out a new one so I could compare the taste. I knew it was too good to be true. The one they brought me was definitely gluten free, there was a different texture, more like a corn cake. I had a few bites of the regular pancake and I could feel my stomach bulging out. They offered to bring me out a new stack but I declined and decided to finish off the one pancake they brought me.

On the other hand, my mom said her tacos were amazing so next time we go (because they gave us a gift card) I am going to have those instead of their pancakes.

All in all DS is a really cool restaurant and I really want to go back and try their lunch. It sounds very appetizing and you can even build your own salad! Woo Hoo!

Leave a Reply

