Pizza Night!

Pizza.jpg

In my house Sunday night is PIZZA NIGHT! Here at the Samurai Pizza Kitchen (aka my kitchen) my family gets together ( sometimes with friends) to make homemade pizza. When we were younger, my brother and I used to invite all the neighborhood kids over for pizza night.

Now that I’m finally home, we decided to restart the tradition. I’ve tried making pizza dough out of cauliflower and it didn’t turn out very well, so I’ve been in need of a new pizza dough recipe. Luckily for me, my mom bought me a gluten-free cookbook for Christmas that had a pizza recipe inside!

The recipe is super simple and easy to follow, so I thought I should share it (: If you want to buy the cookbook, its called Gluten Free Girl Everyday. I don’t make the full recipe because its only me (and sometimes my mom) who uses the dough.

Here is my version of the recipe:

Ingredients: 

• 250 grams gluten free flour

• 1 tsp psyllium husk

• 2 grams active dry yeast

• 1/3 tsp sugar

• 1/3 tsp salt

• 1 1/4 tbsp  olive oil

• 1/2 – 3/4 cup warm water (110F)

How to make the dough: 

IMG_1369

1. Combine all ingredients into a bowl and mix together. This dough will be a little sticker than usual pizza dough.

IMG_1370

2. Place the dough in the bowl with olive oil and roll it around so all sides have an olive oil coating.

IMG_1371

3. Cover the dough with a towel and set aside until you are ready to sue. Typically this dough needs 2 hours to rise.

Now time to make the pizza!

1) Preheat your oven to 500F or as high as it will go. This will help the pizza cook fast!

IMG_1373

2) Take a chunk of the pizza dough and roll it out onto a floured surface (gluten free of course)

3) Place it in the oven on a pizza stone or cookie sheet for about 5 minutes

4) Take it out and top with your favorite pizza toppings. Then place it back in the oven for about 10 minutes or until its brown and crispy around the edges and on top.

I made pizza for my mom and I and made them two different ways. For my mom’s pizza I used pizza sauce, spinach, mozzarella cheese, chopped bacon, sliced tomatoes and ground sausage. However I on the other hand like to dip my pizza in the pizza sauce so I make a “dry pizza”. Once it cooked for the 5 minute period I topped my pizza with spinach, cheese, chopped bacon and fresh tomatoes.

IMG_1375 IMG_1377

My pizza before and after (above)

IMG_1376

Moms pizza (above)

The pizza was delicious! The crust was nice and crisp and it really didn’t taste gluten free at all! I really recommend trying this recipe (: If you are looking for a gluten free flour blend, check out my recipe box (: or just click here!

IMG_1378

Leave a Reply

