Low Carb Puffs

Low Carb

Sometimes when you give up a certain food (like bread) you begin to crave it. So why not create a yummy puff to curb the cravings and still keep you on track with your low carb diet! I’ve seen many posts on Pinterest about “Cloud Bread” and I decided this was the perfect time to test it out! I wasn’t quite sure what it was going to taste like because the only ingredients really are eggs and cream cheese. I know right, how could those ingredients make anything? Well trust me they can, and these babies are good!

First of all, I don’t really know what to call these. I guess they are like bread, but I feel like that isn’t the right term to use. So I’ve decided that I am going to call them puffs. Low Carb Puffs (:

The puffs are very simple and do not require any out of the ordinary ingredients like typical gluten free baked goods (woo hoo!)

Ingredients:

3 eggs, separated

3 tbsp cream cheese

1/4 tsp cream of tartar

1/4 tsp Splenda or other sweetener

How to:

  • Preheat oven to 300F
  • Separate the egg whites from the egg yolks.
  • In a bowl with the egg yolks: add the cream cheese, and sweetener

IMG_1407

 

 

  • In the bowl with the whites: add the cream of tartar and mix on high (using a stand mixer or handheld mixer) until stiff peaks form

IMG_1408

  • Once peaks form, fold in the egg yolk mix to the egg whites. Do this step carefully so you don’t break the stiffness of the egg whites.

IMG_1409

 

 

 

 

  • Scoop mix onto a greased cookie sheet. I was able to make 9 puffs from the mixture.

IMG_1410

  • Bake for 30 minutes. Make sure to watch them because they could take more or less time.

        IMG_1413 

Here is what they look like when they come out! I recommend toping them with a little butter and jam or cinnamon sugar! They are mighty delicious! 

IMG_1412

4 thoughts on “Low Carb Puffs

  1. WD says:

    Very cool! Do u think I could substitute chèvre for the cream cheese? It’s probably not as creamy and is goat milk …ever tried it? Thanks for great idea! Am going to try your soup from Snapguide….WD

    • Hannah Cooper says:

      Thanks! I haven’t tried it yet, I’m not a huge goat cheese fan. But, my mom likes it so I’ll try to make it for her. If you microwave it or get it to room temperature the chèvre should work perfectly! You can also use cottage cheese! I hope you like the soup too!

Leave a Reply

