Stuffed Anaheim Chiles (Low Carb)

A rainy day in Houston calls for a new creation in the kitchen…

Stuffed Chiles

I love making stuffed peppers that are packed with fresh vegetables and protein. The last time I made stuffed peppers I used quinoa and created a “Southwestern” flavor. This time I decided to leave out the quinoa so my mom could enjoy a low-carb version. I also decided to use the Anaheim Chiles my mom bought, but ended up using an orange bell pepper for the leftover stuffing.

One of the fun things about creating your own recipe is throwing in a bunch of random ingredients that you have in your fridge and or pantry. I actually prefer creating my own recipes so I can use ingredients that I already have instead of buying specific ones. So with that, if you decide to make stuff chiles (or peppers) use whatever vegetables you have or you can follow my recipe. Some extra vegetables you could add are: eggplant, zucchini, sweet potato, squash (yellow or butternut would be delicious!). The enchilada sauce along with the red pepper flakes make the stuffing a tad spicy so if you are looking for a milder version I recommend cutting those ingredients out or using a milder version of the enchilada sauce.

I highly recommend charring the chiles before you begin cooking. The blackened areas on the chiles help to bring out the full flavor that the chiles offer. Plus it’s fun to stick things in the fire right? At first I was afraid that the peppers were somehow going to explode, (I don’t know where I got that idea) but they never did and they charred perfectly!

One of my ideas was to use fire roasted tomatoes that we had in our pantry, but I didn’t want to use the whole can. I saw that we had tomatoes on the counter that weren’t looking super great so I decided to cut them up and make my own fire roasted tomatoes. They actually turned out really well! However, next time I need to put a little olive oil in the pan because the tomatoes stuck to the bottom of the pan.

Ingredients:

  • 2 Green Anaheim Chile Peppers
  • 1 medium tomato
  • 1/3 yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 5 brussel sprouts, chopped
  • 1 handful spinach
  • 1 chicken sausage, any flavor
  • 1 tsp roasted red pepper flakes
  • 1 tablespoon Trader Joe’s Corn and Chile Tomato-less Salsa
  • 1 tablespoon Hatch Green Chile Enchilada Sauce
  • Shredded Mexican Cheese (optional)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375.
  2. On a gas burner, char the peppers until black. They will make cracking noises which is normal. Rotate the peppers after they blacken on one side and continue rotating until peppers are fully charred. ImageImage
  3. Slice tomato and place in a pan over medium heat. Add a dash of olive oil so the tomatoes won’t stick. Cook until charred & flip.Image
  4. Remove the tomatoes, and set aside. Add a tablespoon of olive oil to the same pan and add the chopped onions and garlic. Cook until the onions become caramelized. Image
  5. Add the chopped brussel sprouts and cook for 5-10 minutes over medium-low heat. While the brussel sprouts are cooking cut the sausage into quarters (bite sized pieces) and set aside. Add the sausage after the brussel sprouts are cooked.
  6. Add the corn salsa, enchilada sauce, red pepper flakes and spinach. Let the spinach become slightly wilted. It will fully cook when the peppers bake in the oven. Image
  7. Remove the core from both peppers. I suggest cutting the top of the pepper off with a knife and remove remaining seeds with a spoon or knife.
  8. Stuff the mixture into each pepper and add a sprinkle of shredded cheese in the middle so the stuffing sticks together.
  9. Bake in the oven on a lined baking tray for 18 minutes. Image
  10. Remove from oven and eat or store for later.

ImageImage

 

After the peppers were stuffed and put back in the oven I still had some leftover stuffing so I put it in the fridge for later! If you also have leftovers throw it in an omelette, or serve it up like a scrambled egg hash. I have a feeling it will be super delicious! You could also add it to a quesadilla to spice it up!

Leave a Reply

