Chia and Cheese Flatbread Crackers (Low Carb)

Flatbread

 

 

I love cooking when its raining. I don’t really know how to explain why I love it but I guess its just calming. I wanted to whip up another recipe for my mom yesterday so I threw a bunch of ingredients together and came up with Low Carb Flatbread! Unlike the other “bread” recipe I posted (Low Carb Puffs) this flatbread actually tastes like bread! Woo hoo!

My original idea was to make crackers for my mom, but when they came out of the oven they were too thick and not crispy enough so I decided they were flatbreads instead. If you want to make this recipe into crackers then make sue the batter/mix is spread out thinly on a cookie sheet.

Ingredients:

 

  • 1/2 cup almond meal
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup shredded cheese
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powser
  • 2 tsp chia seeds
  • salt & pepper

 

IMG_1476

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. Beat an egg in a bowl and add the rest of the ingredients.
  3. Place on a lined baking sheet and form into a rectangle, It should be about 1/4 inch thick. If you want crisper bread, then spread it out more.
  4. Bake for 20 minutes.
  5. Broil for another 5 minutes so the cheese turns golden brown and crispy.

IMG_1478

If you do decide to make the flatbread, when you want to eat it slice it in half like you’re cutting a bagel and toast it! It tastes great, and its crispy and crunchy!

Nutrition (makes 9 mini flatbread crackers): 54 calories and 1.4g carbs

Leave a Reply

