Crave Cupcakes

Cupcakes. One of the most popular foods around.

IMG_1589

This morning after a long walk in the park, I decided to stop and check out the cupcake scene at Crave Cupcakes in Houston. Crave is a fairly new business. It has been open for around 6 years and has been cranking out delicious confections ever since. Like other cupcakeries, Crave offers a variety of cupcake flavors that change daily. However the gluten free, vegan and sugar free options are baked daily (how convenient).

Crave 1.jpg

The gourmet cupcake bakery has a very clean and organized appearance–which I love. Its so modern and the artwork is super cute too. There are little cupcakes enclosed in glass domes across the cupcake wall and there are also shelves lined with old stand mixers. The added pop of turquoise also adds a fun feel.

crave 2.jpg

I was able to talk to one of the employees at Crave and she gave me some insight on what they have to offer. Although they only have two flavors of gluten-free cupcakes (Chocolate on Chocolate and Vanilla on Chocolate), she said they will probably be creating more in the future. They just recently came out with vegan (Red Velvet) and sugar free (Chocolate on Vanilla) options that have been a success thus far. You can order a single cupcake, a dozen or mini cupcakes at Crave. However, in order to buy  mini cupcakes you have to preorder two dozen. When you place your order, an employee checks off what cupcake you want and writes your name down on a order form and then brings the form along with your fresh cupcake to the register where you pay.

IMG_1592

I ordered the Vanilla on Chocolate gluten-free cupcake. I like how they stamp the fondant with a gluten free tag to show the cupcakes are gluten free. On top of the Vanilla (most likely buttercream) frosting laid the chocolate sprinkles. The cupcake was so perfect looking I was afraid to mess it up.

IMG_1593

After having my nose in the cupcake box the whole way home I was finally able to enjoy a treat from the gluten free gods (Thank you!) Whoever came up with this gluten free cupcake recipe is a genius. The cupcake, although denser than a usual cupcake was super moist and flavorful. I don’t think it tastes any different than what a normal cupcake would taste like. The richness of the chocolate pairs perfectly with the not-overly-sweet buttercream frosting.

I was shocked at how delicious this cupcake tasted. I had to hold myself back from taking another bite because it was only 10am and I still hadn’t eaten breakfast. I was able to hold myself back until after lunch, until diving back into this puppy.

IMG_1594 2

Looking back, this was my first cupcake in a long time. I don’t think I have had one in over a year..yikes. Crave, watch out because I will definitely be coming back soon.

crave 3.jpg

Leave a Reply

