Cowboy Caviar

Before you scroll down to the next post, I promise you there are no fish eggs in this recipe.

Cowboy Caviar.jpg

 

Did I mention this was another creation for the HIMYM themed dinner? Allow me to explain, in honor of Ted’s (one of the main characters) red cowboy boots, I made Cowboy Caviar, with extra red vegetables. I guess you could say I’m a tad creative. (:

The other day my mom and I made Japanese themed bookmarks for the upcoming International Fair at my brothers High School. For lunch, one of the ladies prepared a light bean salad known as Cowboy Caviar. This salad is very flavorful–not to mention colorful–and can be made with a variety of different raw vegetables.

IMG_1568

As for the beans, this salad is typically made with black eyed peas, however you could use kidney or garbanzo beans. On Saturday my mom and I picked up some fresh cowpeas (like black eyed peas) so I could make Cowboy Caviar. Fresh beans are way better than the canned ones in my opinion!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup uncooked cowpeas
  • 1/3 white onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 2 celery stalks, chopped
  • 2 cups water (or enough to keep the beans fully covered while cooking)
  • 8 cherry tomatoes
  •  1/2 cucumber, cut into bite sized pieces
  • 3 green onions, chopped
  • 1/3 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 bunch cilantro, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons white wine vinegar
  • salt and pepper

Other ingredients you can add: Fresh corn, thinly sliced carrots, avocado, edamame beans…

* FYI: if you are making this recipe using canned beans, you do not have to cook the beans. Just add the sautéd vegetables to the rinsed and strained beans.

The first step is to sauté the white onion, celery and garlic in a pan with some olive oil.  This helps to bring out the flavors of the vegetables. You want the onions to brown a bit and become transparent (thats how you know they are done)

IMG_1543

Then, in a medium pot, add the fresh beans, and sautéd vegetables. Cover with water and cook over medium-high heat for an hour. Check on the beans every so often to make sure they are still fully submerged in water. Add more water if necessary. You can also add a bit of chicken stock to give the peas more flavor.

 

 

IMG_1545

After the beans are finished cooking, strain them and let them cool. The beans should be cold before you start adding the fresh vegetables. I stored the beans in an airtight container and let them sit in the fridge for a few hours.

IMG_1556

 

Once the beans have cooled, transfer to a medium bowl and add all the cut up vegetables, salt and pepper and dressing. Stir together and place back in the fridge until you are ready to eat (:

I had leftover beans, so I placed them in the freezer along with the juices so I could make a soup later or another salad!

IMG_1557

 

 

2 thoughts on “Cowboy Caviar

Leave a Reply

