Harvest Organic Grille

Well I’ve had some pretty good luck so far with different gluten free options at restaurants here in Houston but I guess my luck has run out. I really didn’t want to have to write a negative review, mostly because I’ve been on a positive streak, but the time has come: Harvest Organic Grille.

Upon arriving at this organic restaurant I was surprised and disappointed at how dark and bar-like this restaurant appeared. I was expecting a bright restaurant to complement their healthy and fresh looking menu. I was wrong, although most of the food options are healthy, they have no eye appeal when brought out to you on a white plate.

Let me rewind a bit. I was eager to try this grille after my mom raved about how great her lunch was. Unfortunately, the second time around wasn’t as great. I ordered the veggie burger on a gluten free bun. (fyi, they don’t state on their menu that they have a gluten free bun option, but if you ask they can make your burger on one.) It came with a side of freshly baked fries and was topped with hummus, mixed green, tomatoes and ¬†caramelized onions. Now I know the picture is not of the best quality, but the lighting was so dark in the restaurant it was hard take a good shot.

Harvest Organic Grille

Here’s the verdict:

  • The fries- flimsy and tasteless. I was expecting crisper fries seasoned with something other than a little bit of salt.
  • The Burger- the veggie patty itself(a black bean, chickpea and rice patty) was delicious. The hummus on top really brought the flavors of the patty to another level. I’ve never topped my veggie burger with hummus, but I will be having it again! The bun was alright, I usually like my burger in a lettuce wrap but they weren’t able to do that.

The Harvest Organic Grille was not what I was hoping for. As you can see in the photo, the meal looks like it came out of a bar. There is no eye appeal or anything that makes me want to take a picture of what I’m eating.

My mom ordered their Bird Burger–a turkey and spinach burger–and asked for it as a lettuce wrap and they brought her out a turkey patty on a bed of old iceberg lettuce…

Sadly, I do not think I will be going back to this place anytime soon. Unless, they revamp and brighten up the dark bar atmosphere.

 

Leave a Reply

