The Salty Dog Cafe, Hilton Head Island

Hello from Hilton Head Island, South Carolina! Apologies for not updating the past few days, but I haven’t been near a computer. Anyways, I decided to create a new gluten-free section on my blog for other places I’ve visited that offer gluten-free options!

I’m starting off this new section with food from my spring break trip to Hilton Head Island, Charleston and Kiawah Island (all in South Carolina). This past week I’ve been in Hilton Head but I will be venturing to Kiawah and Charleston soon.

photo 1

Here in Hilton Head there is a well-known restaurant called The Salty Dog Cafe. The food is wonderful and the atmosphere is great too! I visited this restaurant a few years ago when we came to Hilton Head for New Years, and back then I wasn’t gluten-free so I could eat the delicious Hush Puppies. If you don’t know what a Hush Puppy is, it’s a fried ball of cornbread mix with a slightly sweeter taste and served fresh out of the fryer with a side of butter. Too bad they don’t offer a gluten-free option!

photo 5

However, one thing that is great about The Salty Dog is they DO offer a gluten-free menu, just be sure to ask when the hostess takes you to your table. There aren’t too many options, but its nice to see that a restaurant is helping people with a food allergy find yummy dining options.

 

I wasn’t too hungry since we had a giant breakfast at Skillets Cafe (post soon to come) so I ordered their garden salad topped with grilled shrimp and raspberry vinaigrette on the side. I think I forgot to mention “gluten-free” when ordering, so my salad did come with a few croutons. However, they weren’t a problem, I just ate around them.

The salad was deeeeliicious! The shrimp was seasoned and grilled perfectly! The dressing was great too! I love having a fruity dressing or sliced fruit on top of my salad because it adds another dimension to the salad. (:

More to come soon!

XX Hannah

Leave a Reply

