Cinnamon Pecan Granola

I’ve been deprived; I haven’t been able to cook for the past few weeks. Yesterday morning–first day back home–I was eager to cook something delicious and flavorful. Here’s what I came up with!

Cinnamon Pecan Granola

Growing up my mom always had a batch of Alton Brown’s  homemade granola in the pantry. A sweet maple syrup and coconut aroma filled our house each time she baked a new batch. I’ve watched her plenty of times to know what goes into the granola but I never knew the amounts, so I just estimated them and it worked!

IMG_0044

Now this recipe is slightly different from Alton Brown’s version, and I think I like my version much better (: Although there is plenty of flavor in the old recipe, I incorporated cinnamon to expand and enhance the already amazing flavors.

* This recipe doesn’t make a large amount because I only had 3/4 cups of rolled oats at that time, but double or triple the recipe and you’ll have enough granola to last you a few weeks!

  • 3/4 cup rolled GF oats
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened coconut
  • 1/4 cup raw pecan halves
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tbsp butter, melted
  • 3 tsp real maple syrup

IMG_0045

  1. Preheat oven to 325F and melt butter in a microwave safe bowl
  2. Combine the dry ingredients in a small bowl
  3. Add the butter and maple syrup and stir together.
  4. Grease a baking tray with Pam or another cooking spray and spread out the granola evenly.
  5. Bake for 30 minutes, and stir the granola every 10-15 min.
  6. When its done, remove from oven and let cool. When it has finished cooling transfer to an airtight container.

IMG_0047

You can use this granola for many different dishes, here are some of my favorite ideas!

~ On top of a bowl of cut up fruit and greek yogurt

~ With milk like a bowl of cereal

~ Raw, just out of the jar (because it’s so good!)

IMG_0048

One thought on “Cinnamon Pecan Granola

Leave a Reply

