Diane’s Famous Turkey Burgers

Turkey burgers are probably one of my favorite foods…that is, turkey burgers filled with chopped mint and fresh shallots. One of my mom’s really good friends introduced us to this delicious burger many summers ago in Castine, Maine. When my mom tested the recipe out on us for the first time my brother and I weren’t sure how the mint flavor was going to complement the turkey and shallots. We quickly found out that mint with turkey is delicious.  The mint flavor is subtle and not overpowering.

Turkey Burgers

*PS: this is a picture of my brother’s burger because we didn’t have GF buns.  The picture of the turkey in the lettuce wrap is below.*

Before my mom and I arrived home from our vacation, my dad drew out the weeks breakfast and dinner meal plan.  Today’s dinner menu was Turkey Burgers with Brussels Sprout Salad. Unfortunately, we didn’t have the ingredients to make the salad so my brother and I decided to have french fries instead.

I really like making turkey burgers because they require very few ingredients and only take a few minutes to prep.

Here’s what you need: (makes 6 turkey burgers)

    • 1.25 lbs ground turkey meat (I go with the lean organic version)
  • 3 shallots, finely chopped (you can also use red onions or green onions)
  • 10 mint leaves, finely chopped
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Olive oil or cooking spray

IMG_0002

1) Combine all ingredients except the olive oil into a medium bowl and mix together until all the ingredients are fully combined.

IMG_0003

2) Form into patties. Make sure the patties are thin and pretty large, they will shrink a lot when you cook them.

IMG_0005

3) In a medium/large pan heat the olive oil or cooking spray and place the burgers into the pan. Cook over medium-low heat for about 15 minutes on each side or until each side is dark brown in color.

IMG_0007

4) Serve on your favorite gluten-free bun or lettuce wrap and top with whatever you like.

When I make turkey burgers I top mine with a little shredded cheese, tomatoes and ketchup. It’s so yummy! Also,to enhance the shallot flavor, caramelize them before adding to the raw turkey meat and mint. I like to sauté the shallots in a little bit of olive oil until they become golden on the edges and translucent.

This is what my dinner looked like (see I told you it wasn’t as appealing)

turkey burgers 2

One thought on “Diane’s Famous Turkey Burgers

Leave a Reply

