Mom’s Famous Chocolate Peanut Butter Shake

Thank goodness my mom bought our Vita Mix blender 16 years ago. Without that purchase, I don’t think we would have ever been introduced to the scrumptious chocolate peanut butter shake. This after school snack (and occasional breakfast treat) was and still is the highlight of my childhood.

Image

My mom makes homemade peanut butter instead of buying it in the store because it is healthier and doesn’t have the additional sugars and oils that store-bought peanut butter contains. I don’t think I could ever grow to love Skippy or Jiff peanut butter, it’s too processed and doesn’t do the peanuts justice. You can make peanut butter using a powerful food processor or a Vita Mix like my family. I’ve never tried using a food processor, but I’ve seen many people use them to make almond butter so I assume it would work just as good for peanut butter. My mom likes to make our peanut butter using one can of honey roasted peanuts and one can of cocktail peanuts–and that’s it, nothing else. The honey roasted peanuts add sweetness to the peanut butter to mask the more bitter-tasting cocktail peanuts.

Now for the good stuff: The chocolate peanut butter shake!

There aren’t really exact measurements for this recipe. When my mom or I make it we just eyeball the ingredients and add a little more of an ingredient if it is lacking in flavor. But here’s a rough outline.

Ingredients: (serves 2,3)

  • 1 banana, frozen
  • 1 spoonful (1-2 tbsp) homemade peanut butter
  • 1 cup milk (you can use almond, coconut or soy if you like)
  • 2-3 tablespoons hot chocolate powder mix
  • Ice cubes
  1. Combine all ingredients into a blender and mix until all the ingredients are combined. If  its too runny add more ice cubes to thicken.
  2. Pour into a glass and garnish with an extra drizzle of fresh homemade peanut butter.

* We usually make a chocolate peanut butter shake after we make the homemade peanut butter because there is still some excess peanut butter inside the blender.

 

Leave a Reply

