Almond Flour Chocolate Chip Cookies (Vegan)

Ah Costco, one of the greatest bulk food stores around. I love going to Costco during the lunch hours because it is prime sample time. On my most recent visit to Costco I found a larger version of Udi’s Gluten-Free Bread. My initial thought was that Costco just carries a bigger size because hey, everything is bigger at Costco, right? But, after browsing Udi’s website, I found they actually do carry two different sizes, “sandwich” and “regular!”

The Costco here in Houston is lacking in the unprocessed foods section, but they do have quite a few gluten-free products. I found crackers, Kirkland brand GF Bread and GF flour blends. One of the best products I came across was Honeyville Blanched Almond Flour, Super Fine Blend. I talked to another lady who was buying the almond flour and she said she loves using this type of flour because it isn’t gritty like other almond flours/meals and is a great substitute for normal flour and gluten-free flours that have a lot of high-glycemic starches. I was a little hesitant to buy the flour because I do not like the gritty texture or flavor of the almond meal we have at home, but with the kind lady’s superb review, how could I not try it.

The 3lb package of almond flour was a steal, too! Online, a 5lb pound bag is around $37 dollars, and our 3lb bag was around $14. The package also has a two recipes; one for vegan chocolate chip cookies and another for tomato and herb bread. Being the chocolate chip cookie lover that I am, I had to try the cookies first.

AF CC Cookies

IMG_0068

* I made a half batch (about 9 cookies). Double the recipe to if you want the original measurements

  • 1 1/4 cup Blanched Almond Flour, super fine blend
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup cooking oil (you could use canola, coconut, sunflower seed..etc)
  • 1/4 cup agave (flavored agave would taste great too!)
  • dash of vanilla
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips (I didn’t use the full amount)

IMG_0069

1. Preheat the oven to 350F.

2. Combine the dry ingredients into a bowl and mix.

3. Add the wet ingredients and stir together to form a consistent dough.

IMG_0070

4. Add the chocolate chips and mix again.

IMG_00715. On a lined baking sheet, spoon the cookie dough into half-inch rounds. The cookies do not expand or flatten out, so shape the dough into flat rounds.

6. Bake for 7-10 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool for 5 minutes before eating. They are soft and fragile when they first come out of the oven so that’s why I recommend waiting a few minutes.

IMG_0073

 

The cookies tasted fantastic! I wouldn’t have thought they were made of almond flour if I didn’t make them myself. These cookies are moist, chewy and all around delicious. They truly deserve an A+ rating!

3 thoughts on “Almond Flour Chocolate Chip Cookies (Vegan)

Leave a Reply

