Grilled Citrus-Mustard Chicken Breasts; The Slim Palate Paleo Cookbook

The other morning, I read an article in the paper about an 18-year-old who recently published the cookbook The Slim Palate. Author Joshua Weissman is a food enthusiast who used the Paleo style of eating to overcome his health conditions and bullying. I really admire Joshua his ability to channel his new-found energy to publish a fantastic and colorful cookbook.

My mom surprised me with a gift the other day which happened to be his cookbook! I was so excited because he’s my age and we share similar interests in food. His pictures are breath-taking. Wait, is that a good way to describe a picture of food? How about mouth-watering? Yes, that sounds better. The pictures are mouth-watering, and what is amazing is that Joshua was the food stylist and photographer for the entire cookbook. I can tell he took a lot of time preparing each dish, which is something I need to learn how to do.

I was excited to try one of his recipes so the other night I decided to make dinner for my family. In the poultry section of his cookbook I found a fabulous chicken recipe: Grilled Citrus-Mustard Chicken Breasts. I also found a great “zoodle recipe” (zucchini noodles) which I will be posting soon!  I made a half recipe and changed parts of the recipe due to the fact that we didn’t have all the ingredients, but it still tasted delicious!

Citrus Mustard Chicken.

For the chicken (this is my variation on his original recipe): Serves 4

  •  2 tablespoons whole grain mustard
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil (with a dash of blood orange infused olive oil)
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons orange juice
  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, smashed*

1) In a small bowl combine all ingredients, except chicken breasts, and whisk together.

2) * This step is optional* To “smash” the chicken, place each individual breast in a large ziploc and tenderize with a meat pounder. I do not recommend using a meat pounder that has spikes because it will poke holes in the plastic bag.

3) In a large shallow dish, pour the marinade over the chicken breasts and refrigerate for at least 3 hours.

IMG_0067

4) Over medium-high heat, cook the chicken breasts in a little bit of olive oil until golden brown on each side. IMG_0078

Before cutting the chicken, let it rest for a minute so you don’t lose all the juices! IMG_0083

The chicken was juicy, tender and flavorful. Let me tell you, the effort he put into producing this cookbook was worth it! I am looking forward to trying more recipes from him.

Leave a Reply

