Turkey & Pesto Open Faced Sandwich

Here’s a quick recipe for a flavorful and delicious open faced sandwich. Its very easy to make and you can add or remove ingredients based on your sandwich preference. I like to keep it simple by using just pesto, turkey and cheese. This is my go to lunch during the week when we don’t have much in the fridge. I always pair my open faced sandwich with cut up fruit or vegetable sticks and maybe a few multigrain chips. (:

I’m going to be writing a post soon about the great gluten-free products at my favorite grocery store (Central Market) soon. They just started making their own gluten free breads, muffins and pastries and I hear the products are a hit! My favorite is the multigrain seeded gluten-free bread. Central Market calls all their gluten-free items “Low-Gluten” because there could be contamination from the glutenous products they also make. I don’t have a reaction to any of their low-gluten products, but I wouldn’t recommend celiacs trying their bread just incase.

IMG_0131

You’ll Need:

1 slice of Gluten-Free Bread

about 1 tsp fresh basil pesto (enough to cover the bread slice)

3-4 slices of turkey

sprinkle of cheese (I prefer shredded Mexican cheese)

 

1) Spread the pesto on one side of the bread top with a little cheese and then the turkey (so the turkey has something to stick to). Then top the turkey with a little more cheese and cook in your toaster oven, or regular oven on broil, for about 4-5 minutes or until the cheese on top turns golden brown.

2) Remove from oven and top with cracked pepper & salt if you like.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

