Small Batch Pumpkin Spice Granola

Nothing says ‘breakfast’ like a hearty bowl of greek yogurt with freshly baked, crunchy granola. :)

I like to eat granola with my yogurt, as a dip for my banana and peanut butter or just plain as a snack. It’s very addictive and quite messy if you are eating it with your hands, but who cares!

Image

I haven’t posted in a while because I’ve been busy helping my mom with her jewelry business–Kanoa Pure Silver–because she has an upcoming show in Tokyo. I promise I will try to post more within the next few weeks, then after that I won’t have a kitchen so restaurant reviews will probably dominate my blog…

Anyways, I know what you’re thinking, pumpkin is so last fall.  I did not hop on the Fall “pumpkin baked goods” bandwagon, and I’ve never used pumpkin spice in a recipe before, so I thought why not try it now! My friend’s mom always made the best pumpkin muffins for our soccer team after a game, so sometime in the near future I’m going to try to recreate that recipe.

Back to the granola–I find granola to be one of the simplest snacks to make. You can use a variety of nuts, seeds, and sweets to buff up the granola, or you can go plain jane and just bake raw oats. My favorite granola contains shredded coconut and pecans–just the right amount of sweet and salty.

Oh gosh, the sweet and cinnamon-y scent of the granola is drifting towards me and it smells SO GOOD! I just want to eat it now! But I will hold back because I know it’s not ready and won’t taste as good as it will if I wait. Good thing I have a strong will power! Let’s get to the recipe shall we?

Ingredients:

3/4 cup raw oats

1 tbsp brown sugar

1/2 tbsp butter, melted

1/4 cup raw pecans

1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice

1/4 tsp cinnamon

Pinch of salt

How-To! 

Preheat oven to 350F. In a small bowl combine the dry ingredients.

Image

Add the melted butter and stir together. Image

Spread out evenly on a cookie sheet and bake in the oven at 350F for 15 minutes. Shake the pan to prevent the granola from burning, then continue baking for 5 more minutes.

Image

Remove from oven and let the granola cool on the baking sheet before storing it in an airtight container.

PS: The pumpkin flavor is subtle so it won’t overpower any fruits or flavors of your yummy yogurt breakfast.

IMG_0196

One thought on “Small Batch Pumpkin Spice Granola

Leave a Reply

