Mango Pistachio Chia Seed Pudding

Week one is almost over for the Buzzfeed Clean Eating Challenge! I’ve been eating a lot more vegetables this past week and I feel great. I think its fun to do challenges like this one because it opened my horizons to new ways of eating my favorite foods. For example, I’ve never had a fried egg on top of a salad before but it was delicious! I’m so excited to see what week two brings to the table (:

This morning for breakfast we had Mango Pistachio Chia Seed Pudding. This breakfast, along with overnight oats, are perfect if you have to eat breakfast on the go or if you don’t have time to prepare breakfast in the morning. Chia seed puddings are made the night before so the seeds can absorb the surrounding liquid–like almond, coconut, or regular milk. Because the chia seeds have little to no flavor, they can be paired with many different fruits and nuts. I think next time I have chia seed pudding I’m going to use cut up strawberries and bananas!

Mango Pistachio Pudding

I was a little concerned last night when I looked up the recipe for our breakfast. Last time I made chia seed pudding it didn’t taste very good, so I was worried this recipe was going to be just as bad. However, the first bite this morning proved me wrong. The mango and pistachios went very well together and the chia seed pudding itself was yummy!

You can choose to follow the original recipe, or follow mine (my moms*). Both work,  my mom just left out half of the required honey and put the pistachios in at night instead of right before we ate the pudding. *My brother and I were at the movies watching Divergent when she made the pudding*

This makes enough for one serving of chia seed pudding:

2 tbsp chia seeds

1/2 mango, cut into bite size pieces

1/2 cup coconut milk (or almond milk)

1/2 tsp honey

2 tbsp pistachios, roughly chopped

pinch of salt

IMG_0200

Combine all the ingredients in a mason jar or small sealable container. Mix throughly and store in the fridge overnight. Come breakfast time, take out of the fridge, grab a spoon and dig in. (:

IMG_0198

• 244 calories • 30g carbohydrates • 17g sugar (from the mango) • 7 g protein

Leave a Reply

