Whole Wheat Pancakes with Blueberry Lemon Compote

blueberry pancakes

Hi guys! Sorry its been awhile; I’ve been really busy with work and don’t have a lot of time at home to cook.

Here’s a quick update: I’ve been working 5 days a week at a bakery here in Maine and it’s really fun. Recently I started cooking some of the signature dishes like broccoli salad, coleslaw along with the sandwiches for the lunch rush. Yesterday I got to make a fabulous chilled cantaloupe & mint soup–recipe coming soon.

 

Also, as you may have noticed, this recipe isn’t gluten-free. Let me explain. At my latest doctor’s visit she suggested that I start incorporating gluten back into my diet to see if it helps fix some of the problems I’ve been having. Luckily, I didn’t have any bad reaction after adding some gluten back into my diet. I still choose not to eat a ton of glutenous food items, but as of now I’m having gluten with at least one meal a day and sometime as a snack. Now I know most of my readers are probably gluten-free and they read this to get recipe ideas so glutenous recipes won’t be as interesting. So, I will post gluten-free options to the new not so gluten-free recipes. I hope I will still be able to attract readers and help people with a gluten intolerance create yummy and delicious meals as well as people who don’t have a gluten intolerance.

Okay, I think that’s enough for an update…back to the yummy stuff.

Carolyn (yes, we cooked breakfast together again) and I were craving pancakes and obviously the only way to get rid of the craving was to make pancakes! We searched through multiple recipes and spent quite a lot of time trying to figure out exactly what kind of pancakes we wanted (banana, blueberry, cinnamon roll…) and decided to keep it simple and make some darn good whole wheat pancakes. We followed a basic whole wheat pancake recipe from The Pancake Princess and topped our pancakes with a Maine wild blueberry and lemon compote.

IMG_0729

The difference between blueberries and Maine Wild Blueberries is the sizing and flavor of the berries. The later type of blueberries are much smaller and sweeter, perfect for making jam and blueberry pies. I can’t get enough of Maine blueberries, they are perfect in practically any breakfast dish and even in ice cream!

Ingredients: (makes 8 small pancakes, enough for 2)

~wet~

  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1 tbsp oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla

~dry~

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour (or gluten-free flour)
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt

~compote~

  • 3/4 cup blueberries
  • 1/2 lemon, juiced
  • 1 tbsp sugar

IMG_0732

Directions:

1) Combine wet ingredients in a medium bowl until fully mixed. Add dry ingredients and stir only until just combined. You don’t want to mix it up too much, lumps are okay!

2) Let the batter rest for 5 minutes and while you’re waiting, heat up a skillet over medium-high heat.

3) In a small saucepan combine the compote ingredients and cook over medium heat. Stir every once in a while until the blueberries begin to get soft and juicy.

4) Spray your pan and pour some of the pancake batter out (about 1/4 cup or a large spoonful). Let the pancakes cook about 3 minutes or until they start to bubble. Flip over and cook for an additional 2 minutes.

5) The blueberry compote should be done by the time all the pancakes are done. We kept our pancakes in a warm oven until all of them were cooked.

IMG_0728

Serve pancakes with a little butter and top with the compote and some maple syrup!

 

4 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Pancakes with Blueberry Lemon Compote

  1. erika says:

    So glad you liked the pancakes!! The blueberry lemon compote sounds TO DIE FOR. Also, yay for adding gluten back into your diet! I’ve been meaning to try my hand at more gluten-free pancakes, but in the meantime…lots of gluten-full pancakes to be had ;)

Leave a Reply

