Breakfast Lavash

IMG_0914

 

Have you ever heard of lavash? Well, I had never heard of it until I saw it in the grocery store a few weeks ago. I’m so happy I found this product! I love love love using it to make breakfast and lunch grilled sandwiches. The lavash has a mild flavor and is very flexible (unlike gluten-free wraps).

 

My favorite meal to make with the lavash is a breakfast sandwich. The stuffing for the wrap really depends on what is in the fridge, but typically I use spinach, eggs, a little cheese and maybe bacon if I feel like cooking up a few pieces. This morning we were out of spinach, but we did have baby kale that I bought from the local farmers market!

The baby kale has a similar flavor to baby spinach, but it is a slightly more bitter. Sometimes I like to use mozzarella cheese, others I use cheddar or the mexican cheese blend. Any cheese will work, it’s just to glue the sandwich together!

 

IMG_0916

Here’s what you’re going to need:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 handful of baby kale
  • 1/2 lavash
  • shredded cheese
  • salt & pepper

1) Crack the eggs in a small bowl and whisk together with salt and pepper.

2) In a pan add a dash of olive oil and toss in the kale. Cook  for 1-2 minutes then pour eggs on top. Cook the eggs until your desired done-ness (done-ness? is that a word? you know what I mean, just cook them how you like your eggs)

3) Transfer eggs to a plate and put the lavash in the pan. Your only going to place your ingredients on one half of the lavash so you can fold the other half on top to make the sandwich. Sprinkle some cheese on part of the lavash, top with eggs and a little more cheese and fold the other part of the lavash on top.

4) Cook each side for about 3-4 minutes or until the lavash becomes crisp.

Lavash

 

5 thoughts on “Breakfast Lavash

Leave a Reply

