Thoughtful Foods: Giddy Up and Go Granola Review!

It feels good to be home. I’m back in my kitchen, I have white plates and all the tools that are needed when cooking (I didn’t have many utensils when I was in Maine). Anyways, I was greeted with a package full of samples when I got home!

IMG_1107

Today I’m reviewing Thoughtful Foods’ Giddy Up and Go Granola! I really love granola–especially on top of greek yogurt! I was so excited when Thoughtful Foods (TF) agreed to let me sample and review their granola!!

Thoughtful Foods was started up by two friends, Jennifer Bielawski and Marie Banis. Both women were looking for healthier foods to feed their families. Their determination and countless hours in the kitchen led to the creation of their delicious granola! I really admire the philosophy of Thoughtful Food. They’ve turned their passion for cooking and nutrition into something that can benefit us all.

IMG_1097

TF makes two versions of granola: “Notoriously Nutty” and “Seriously Seedy”. Both of the granolas are gluten and dairy free and vegan. However only the Seriously Seedy is nut-free. Their products are certified USDA organic and gluten-free. One of the unique characteristics of the granola is its chewy and hearty texture.  The granola comes in three different sizes, 11oz, 2.5lb, and individual snack packs (a package of 16 snack packs) with prices ranging from $8 (11 oz bag) to $22.50 (2.5lb bag).

The Notoriously Nutty granola–their signature granola– is my favorite out of the two. It is a bit sweeter than the seedy granola and has a nice cinnamon flavor. Walnuts, almonds and pecans are packed into this yummy granola along with oats, corn flakes, flaxseed meal and a variety of dried fruits. A serving size (3/4 cup) of this granola has 6 grams of protein and 5 grams of fiber.

Nutty Granola

The Seriously Seedy granola is more savory than sweet, and contains a variety of seeds (pumpkin, sunflower, sesame). This product is nut free, however it is processed in a facility that deals with nuts. Therefore, if you have a severe nut allergy, I would be cautious.

Seedy

After taste-testing both granolas, I topped my greek yogurt with some of the Notoriously Nutty granola and it took my breakfast to the next level. The nuttiness isn’t too overpowering because the dried fruits help to balance out the flavors. Both granolas aren’t super crunchy — they are slightly soft and chewy. The granola is in clumpy chunks which makes it easy to eat for a snack or when you’re on the go.

IMG_1107

 

I would definitely buy this granola again! It’s perfect for breakfast, doesn’t need to be refrigerated, and has a long shelf life. If you are interested in buying their granola you can find it on their website, Amazon or a local grocery store.

One thought on “Thoughtful Foods: Giddy Up and Go Granola Review!

Leave a Reply

