Packing Lunch

 

 

 

Hey readers!

 Laptop Lunches offered to incorporate me into their back to school lunch write-up! It’s so exciting to be going back to school. I graduated high school early which means I haven’t been in school for 7 months! That’s insane!

PicMonkey Collage

My favorite part of the day during school is lunch time. A time to be social and to see what everyone else made for lunch. Most of my friends throughout high school made their lunches even though our school had some pretty good menu items. I bought lunch once or twice a week and would typically order the grilled chicken with a side of  mixed vegetables.

Whenever I brought my lunch I would take a spinach salad topped with cucumber, tomato, carrot, sweet potato, and whatever other vegetables we had in the fridge. I would also top my salad with sliced turkey or whatever meat/protein we had the night before.  I would also take rice crackers and an apple or two mikans (the Japanese word for clementines) to snack on throughout the day (school makes you hungry).

My new Laptop Lunch box makes lunch preparation so much easier, and did I mention more FUN! I love the compartments, I like keeping my food organized and unharmed by the content of my backpack and this lunch box does the trick! Everything stays fresh and I don’t have to worry about bringing multiple containers to lunch!

IMG_1203

Its so fun and yummy you can’t not smile about lunch!

This lunch took me less than 20 minutes to prepare. That is really no time at all! If you have time in the morning or the evening I would really consider making your own lunch to take to school. I know it can sometimes be a hassle when you are trying to get everything organized for school but I promise, come lunch time you WILL be satisfied with your lunch. You know why? Because YOU made your own lunch with fresh unprocessed ingredients!

Taking lunch can be beneficial to your health and your wallet! If you are trying to stay healthy and eat right, eating out for lunch every day is not going to help. There are temptations everywhere, that cupcake stand around the corner, the food truck outside of the office building and even that vending machine at the office. If you bring lunch from home, and pack some healthy snacks like celery or carrot sticks to snack on if you get hungry, you are taking that first step to being a healthier human being (:

Here’s some tips on making easy AND healthy lunches!

  • Use left overs from last nights dinner to make lunch preparation much easier.
  • Make lunch the night before to make mornings less stressful
  • Use bright colored foods for a fun and super healthy lunch.
  • Roll it up: spring roll wrappers are the perfect gluten-free “tortilla”—minus all the calories. They are mild in flavor and can be filled with typical sandwich ingredients! I always fill mine with turkey, lettuce and thinly sliced vegetables.

laptoplunch2

In the lunch above I made:

  • Whole wheat pita filled with turkey, tomato, avocado and spinach
  • 1/2 Fuji apple
  • 2% cottage cheese with blueberries
  • Sliced strawberries

Here’s another example of a great heathy and easy lunch!

IMG_1201

What I prepared for lunch today:

  • rice paper wrap with turkey, avocado, spinach and thinly sliced carrots
  • baby carrots & ranch dip
  • Cubed Cantaloupe & Grapes
  • Slice of Banana Bread

I made sure my lunch contained fruits, vegetables and protein. Earlier this morning I made banana bread, so I put a slice of that in my lunch too (:

I hope you guys take my advice and start making lunches! They are really fun (I’m not joking) and can help you reach the health goal you’ve been striving to reach!

If you’re interested in buying a laptop lunch, they sell them here!

One thought on “Packing Lunch

Leave a Reply

