Eating Out: Los Angeles

I need a break from homework, so I’ve decided to share some of my favorite restaurants/food places that I’ve visited since I arrived in Los Angeles. My friend Clara took me around Los Angeles when I first arrived and we went to a few restaurants and ice cream places as well as surfing and shopping (:

IMG_1226

True Foods Kitchen is a fabulous restaurant in Santa Monica (also located in Arizona, Texas, Colorado, Georgia, Texas and Virginia) that is dishing up healthy and fresh meals. They offer a wide variety of foods that are accessible to people on gluten-free, vegan, and vegetarian diets. I really loved eating here! The atmosphere is quaint and so simple and clean. The service was great and the food was fabulous. I ordered the Tuscan Kale Salad with grilled shrimp and Clara and I split their Edamame Dumplings which were the bomb. I also had “The Natural” which was a sparkling ginger and agave soda.

IMG_1231

If you haven’t been to Manhattan Beach, you need to go. Its awesome, and by far my favorite beach town. I’ve been to MB multiple times in the summer and I always like checking out the new restaurants and dining at my previous favorites. I had lunch with my mom and our friend Alita at Le Pain Quotidien. I ordered the Roasted Turkey and Avocado Tartine. On a piece of their homemade sourdough bread, they pile shaved turkey, diced tomatoes, avocado, arugula, radishes and cucumbers. It would have been nice if the bread was toasted, but it was still delicious!  IMG_1227

The second part of my food adventure with Clara was Sweet Rose Creamery in the Brentwood Country Mart. Sweet Rose uses organic ingredients from farms around California and makes all of their ice cream in shop. They offer a variety of flavors, some seasonal, that are awesome. Their flavors are very unique, I don’t think I’ve ever seen so many strange (but cool) flavors. I had to try the Buttermilk Sherbet with Strawberry Ripple. It was so creamy and delicious, I was in heaven. I was hesitant to get buttermilk flavored ice cream, but it was so worth it!

IMG_1256-1

During orientation, our Spiritual Life Advisor, Lauren, (SLA) took my roommate and I to lunch in the Point Dume Pavilion. We ate at a super health food shop called SunLife Organics. I had gone in there the day before orientation and had their Malibu Sunrise juice which had strawberries, oranges and carrots in it. It was so yummy! The bitterness of the carrots was balanced out by the sweetness of the strawberries and the tartness of the oranges perfectly! Our SLA told us they made really good Acai Bowls so we had to check it out. I ordered the Brazilian Bowl that had a smoothie of acai, strawberries, blueberries, apple juice and almond milk and it was topped with bananas, strawberries, hemp, granola and shaved coconut. Acai berries are one of the popular super foods because they have a ton of antioxidants and they taste great! IMG_1245The last place on my list is Marmalade Cafe in Malibu. My mom and I went to lunch at Marmalade after I unpacked all my clothes. Their soup and sandwich combination is the bomb and their cookies are even better. As my mom and I were walking out of the restaurant I was eyeing the multiple cookie jars filled with moist, giant cookies and lucky for me one of the waiters offered me a FREE ONE! I guess if you look interested you get free things! I’m so going to try that at more places. They gave me a Ginger Molasses cookie that was out of this world. It was insanely moist, flavorful and had a great texture. The cookie was even dusted with a little extra sugar (:

Anyways, I hope you check out some of my favorite places here in California. I will be posting more since I have limited kitchen access.

 

Leave a Reply

