Heirloom Tomato Tagliatelle

IMG_1151

This morning my roommate and I drove down to the local farmers market after going to Marmalade Cafe for breakfast. We both wake up early, and our cafeteria doesn’t open until 10am on Sundays, so for the past few Sunday’s we’ve been going out to breakfast. I didn’t get a picture of my breakfast this morning, but I had scrambled eggs with a cup of fruit. I also substituted an almond banana granola pancake for the toast that would have come with my meal. I was really craving pancakes but I know they aren’t filling, so I wanted some form of protein to keep me running until I eat lunch later.

The farmer’s market here is AWESOME! The one back home in Houston is small and doesn’t have a wide variety of products. The one here has gluten-free cookie stands, healthy popsicles, Mexican food, French pastries, mixed nuts and multiple tables of organic produce. I was overwhelmed. One of the vendors was selling artisan ice cream push-pops. She offered Speculous Cookie Butter and Marshmallow pops, Balsamic Strawberry, Lavender Honey, Horchata and a few other flavors that were also vegan! Her flavors were so unique, I wanted a pop so badly but I was way too full from breakfast! I’ll just go back next weekend around lunch time and indulge.

Okay, that’s enough about my day so far. Lets get to the recipe shall we? I was scrolling through photos on my phone and found pictures of this dish that I never blogged about. I haven’t used the kitchen on campus yet, but I think I am going to try this week or next weekend!

I found this recipe when I was scrolling through the endless food articles on Buzzfeed (#29). I changed parts of Camille’s original recipe because I wanted to use the ingredients I had in the kitchen.

Heirloom tomatoes are so juicy and flavorful! The best ones are weirdly shaped and colored, so don’t be afraid to get the gnarliest looking tomato you can find.

IMG_1147

I tried to choose a few different colored tomatoes so my dinner would be as colorful as possible. My favorite tomato was the yellow one!

IMG_1148

 

I really enjoyed cooking this dinner. I loosely followed the recipe because I wanted to make it my own. A few weeks ago my mom purchased Avocado Oil from Costco. This cooking oil is better for high heat cooking, and is high in vitamin E and protein unlike olive oil or canola oil. There isn’t a distinct flavor difference between olive and avocado oil which is good because it won’t overpower the flavors in a dish.

IMG_1149

The cooked tomatoes tasted delicious all by themselves! They didn’t even need pasta. I think the tomatoes would taste good on top of crusty bread like bruschetta!

IMG_1150

Here’s the recipe below! Try it out, I promise it is delicious! pasta

IMG_1152

Leave a Reply

