Oatmeal in the Morning

This week I’ve been having oatmeal for breakfast. Our cafeteria is out of shelled eggs as well as egg whites and I don’t really like the fake taste of eggs from a carton. Some days I’ll get a whole wheat english muffin sandwich for breakfast that has eggs or egg whites and cheese. Others, I’ll get eggs and maybe pancakes. One of my favorite breakfast meals is greek yogurt with granola and fresh fruit, but the only yogurt offered is sweetened vanilla yogurt. That is why I’ve started having oatmeal!

Oatmeal is a quick and easy breakfast that can be made in a minute and a half or 10 minutes, depending on how you want. It contains a lot of fiber and protein and is one of the few foods that is able to hold me over until lunch. If you’ve been following my blog since I started last January, then you know that I eat a lot of oatmeal and post a lot of different oatmeal recipes. Since I’m in college, now I am going to be posting more oatmeal recipes because I need to try out different combinations of oats and toppings.

Here are the first two of many…

Oatmeal with banana, peanut butter and slivered almonds!

IMG_1350

To make this bowl, I buy a banana, an individual peanut butter package and sprinkle slivered almonds on top.

Oatmeal with Raisins, Brown Sugar and Bananas

IMG_1367

 

This bowl is much easier to make because the raisins and brown sugar are set out at the oatmeal station. All I had to buy extra for this bowl was the banana.

I am going to work on making more oatmeal combinations, so hang tight! I will also be sharing a few of my favorite meals so far (:

 

 

Leave a Reply

