Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bars

Fall is a time for baking, and by baking I mean baking anything that has pumpkin in it. Every fall my Pinterest becomes overloaded with hundreds of pictures of mouth-watering pumpkin baked goods. Usually I don’t end up  baking any of the pumpkin goodies I pin, but Mary found this recipe the other day and it looked so good we had to try it!

pumpkin bars


I am a pumpkin muffin sucker, especially those topped with cream cheese frosting, so I usually stay in my comfort zone and bake those when I buy pumpkin puree. My friend Katey’s mom always made pumpkin muffins for our soccer team that were to-die-for. I always looked forward to eating one (or two…) after our games.

 

This recipe is super easy to follow and there aren’t many ingredients required. If you don’t have pumpkin pie spice, don’t worry about it, you can always make your own with a blend of cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg and ginger. Since Mary and I couldn’t find pumpkin pie spice we made our own and it worked out perfectly!

IMG_1586

 

These pumpkin bars are very soft, and moist because of the pumpkin puree. The chocolate chips complement the pumpkin flavor perfectly. I highly recommend using semi-sweet or dark chocolate chips for this recipe. You could also add nuts if you want, pecans would work the best!

IMG_1588

I let Mary take the reins on this recipe because I had a huge nutrition test to study for. But I was there for moral support (oh, and photography of course).

CC pumpkin bars

Adapted from the blog Averie Cooks 

Leave a Reply

