Ramen Jin

When people ask me where I’m from I never know what to say. Growing up I moved around a lot and always considered my “home” to be the military base I was currently living at. My family recently moved to Texas from Japan so technically Texas is my newest home. I still tell people that I’m from Japan because I lived there for 7 years and really felt like Tokyo was my home.

IMG_2391

Sometimes I crave Japanese food and it’s hard to find authentic Japanese food. I’m a snob when it comes to finding REAL Japanese food. Many sushi restaurants don’t use the right type of rice, or use weird ingredients which makes the sushi come out strange. I went to a ramen restaurant when I first moved here and instead of using ramen noodles they used spaghetti. I mean come on, that’s just wrong.

A few weeks ago my dad read a restaurant review in the newspaper about a Japanese Ramen restaurant close to our house. It is called Ramen Jin  and opened last December in a small strip mall on Westheimer.

IMG_2387

 

The setup of the restaurant is simple, small tables and chairs all around with one large cafeteria styled table in the middle. Before you sit down, you place your order at the counter, take a pitcher of water and how ever many glasses for your party.

They offer four different types of ramen, each are made with a different broth but have the same toppings. Shio, Shoyu, Tonkotsu, and Miso broth are the different bases. Shio is salt based, Shoyu is soy based, Tonkotsu is pork bone and Miso is just vegetable and chicken based.

IMG_2388

Each bowl of ramen is topped with Chashu (braised pork belly), Hanjuku Tomago (soft boiled egg), Menma (bamboo shoots), Nori (seaweed), Negi (scallions) and roasted corn.

IMG_2389

 

I was so amazed at how delicious and authentic this ramen was. It exceeded my expectations. They make the ramen noodles and even the broth, which takes over 12 hours! This restaurant did not disappoint so I will definitely be going back in the near future! Ramen is the perfect winter meal to warm you up!

 

Leave a Reply

