Earnest Eats: hot & fit cereal

My new favorite on the go breakfast for sure: Earnest Eats Oatmeal!

Oatmeal

The cafeteria at my University doesn’t open until 9am on the weekend. This is a problem because I’m usually up by 7:30 and starving an hour later. Luckily, the few snacks I do have in my dorm room are breakfast foods and hold me over until I can get lunch from the Caf. I like to keep oatmeal, yogurt, and granola in my dorm. Plain and simple dorm staple foods that can be paired with almond butter, peanut butter, honey, or different fruits and sweets.

My mom sent me a care package a while ago with two different varieties of Earnest Eats Oatmeal. I had never seen this brand before , but I was eager to test teach to-go package out! The American Blend and the Mayan Blend were the two flavors my mom sent. I tested out the Cranberry oatmeal first and haven’t tried the Cocoa version quite yet!

IMG_2160

 

Earnest Eats oatmeal is made with “Superfood Grains”, Quinoa, Oats and Amaranth. It also is vegan! Although this product is not gluten-free, I still decided to eat it because oats don’t bug my stomach like whole grains.  IMG_2161

The oatmeal has two cooking methods: microwave or adding hot water and letting it sit. I chose to heat up some water in a kettle and let the oatmeal sit for 2 minutes. IMG_2162When I opened the oatmeal there were little bits of brown sugar to sweeten the oatmeal along with the cranberries, almonds and flax! IMG_2163

After letting the oatmeal sit for two minutes I decided to add a small spoonful of almond butter. When I make oatmeal at home I like to add either peanut butter or almond butter because I like the nutty flavor, especially when its mixed with bananas! IMG_2164

Earnest Eats also makes Granola Bars and Energy Bars to go along with their Hot & Fit cereals! Check them out here! Online, you can buy bags of oatmeal or the single serving packages. They also make a Superfood Blueberry Chia and an Asian Blend oatmeal. The Asian blend has green tea, mango and sesame seeds mixed in!

The oatmeal was SO good! I can’t wait to try the Mayan Blend! I think next time I make it I won’t add as much water because I like my oatmeal drier than what is suggested. Next time I go to the grocery store I’m going to see what other flavor options they have!

Hope everyone has a Happy Holiday and a great New Year!

 

Leave a Reply

