Mixed Berry Overnight Oats

Breakfast at my cafeteria is lacking in healthy options. The yogurt is flavored and full of sugar, scrambled eggs come pre-scrambled out of a giant bag and omelettes come with a nice thin coating of oil. yum. I’ve decided that this semester I’m going to be having overnight oats, yogurt or oatmeal for breakfast instead of the Caf food. oats

 

As you already know, I love granola, oats and overnight oats. All three dishes are so mild tasting, the flavor possibilities are unlimited. After eating my overnight oats this morning I thought of a new flavor blend that I’m going to test out before I go back to school (I’ll share it with you all, don’t worry).

This morning, well last night actually I made mixed berry overnight oats. This batch also has chia seeds and ground cinnamon inside! In addition to chia, my mom likes to add hemp seeds but I choose to skip them. The chia seeds help to thicken overnight oats because the seeds suck up all the liquid, leaving a nice thick consistency.

IMG_2458

Every overnight oats recipe has the same base ingredients in a 1/3 cup portion: milk, yogurt and rolled oats.  The type of milk is up to you, and so is the yogurt. I choose the 2% greek yogurt because it is thicker and has a higher nutritional value than non-fat greek yogurt.

For this recipe you’ll need:

1/3 cup 1% milk

1/3 cup Fage 2% greek yogurt

1/3 cup rolled oats

3 blackberries

4 raspberries

9 blueberries

1 tsp chia seeds

1/2 tsp cinnamon

dash vanilla

honey to sweeten

1/2 tbsp almond butter

Mix all the ingredients in your favorite overnight oats jar and refrigerate until morning. I like to add the almond butter in the morning, sometimes because I forget it the night before.

Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

