5 Breakfasts to Get You Through The Week

PicMonkey Collage

Happy Saturday! Looking back at this past week I don’t think I have ever been more creative when making breakfast. The challenge of not having an oven, stove top or many ingredients has pushed me to move out of my comfort zone and experiment with breakfast meals.

The only “equipment” I have in my room are bowls, utensils, measuring cups, a microwave and a mini fridge. Typically the only foods I have in my room are greek yogurt, rolled oats, frozen berries, grapefruit, apples, almond butter/peanut butter and a couple snacks.

Here’s what I had this week:

MONDAY: Greek Yogurt with Chia Seeds, Mixed Berries and Chopped Walnuts

IMG_3137 2

Okay I lied, I had this awesome yogurt bowl for dinner…but thats besides the point. This is super easy to make and doesn’t require many ingredients. I had fresh berries in my fridge, but frozen berries work too! When I am out of fresh berries I microwave the frozen ones for about 20 seconds and then top with yogurt and granola/nuts.

To make this bowl you’ll need:

1 Small container of Fage 0% greek yogurt (you can choose a flavored one too if you like)

7 Raspberries

4 Blackberries

7 Blueberries

1 Tsp chia seeds

1 Tbsp chopped walnuts

Drizzle of Honey

– Add all ingredients into a bowl and dig in. You can also add granola for an extra crunch. Sometimes I add raw oats or a small spoonful of raspberry jam!

TUESDAY: Berry Mokoko Chia Seed Pudding IMG_3146 3

 

Chia seed pudding is one of the more random things I made for breakfast…I haven’t made chia seed pudding since I made the Mango Pistachio version. I happened to have chia seeds, coconut milk and berries that needed to be consumed so I decided to make a tri-berry pudding.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup Mokoko Coconut Milk Drink (or almond milk/regular milk)

1 tbsp chia seeds

handful of berries

dash of cinnamon

* This is to be prepared the night before*

– In an airtight container combine all the ingredients. Mix together and place in the fridge overnight.

 WEDNESDAY: Strawberry Chia Seed Yogurt with an Apple and Peanut Butter

IMG_3207

I was in a rush Wednesday morning so I wanted to eat something quick, but still have a filling and nutritious meal. The Epic Seed is one of my new favorite yogurts. I am not a fan of the Chobani or Fage with fruit because it is way too sweet.

THURSDAY: Whole Wheat Bagel Thin with Avocado and Scrambled Eggs Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Thursday morning I had a big Economics test at 8am. I wanted to get up early enough so I could make a yummy and healthy breakfast before my test. Our Caf opens at 7:30 and my exam was at 8am so I had just enough time to throw this simple breakfast together

Ingredients:

1/4 avocado

2 scrambled eggs

1 bagel thin

– Toast the bagel thin, when its finished mash the avocado on top and spread it like you would cream cheese. Top with scrambled eggs and dig in. (Side note: you can also use over easy eggs too!)

FRIDAY: Peanut Butter, Raspberry Jelly and Banana Oatmeal

IMG_3204

I thought of my breakfast for Friday the night before. To be honest, it took me a little extra time to fall asleep because I was so excited to make my breakfast (food nerd am I right…). I love making oatmeal for breakfast because it is so filling. By itself, oatmeal doesn’t have much flavor which allows it to be easily paired with a variety of fruits, grains and other toppings. I tend to stick to fruits and nut butters when making oatmeal so I have a little protein and fruit with my breakfast.

Ingredients

1/3 cup rolled oats

2/3 cup water

1 small banana

1/2 tbsp peanut butter

1/2 tbsp raspberry jelly

– In a microwave safe bowl combine the oats and water. Microwave on high for 2 minutes. Slice the banana and add to the oatmeal. Add the peanut butter and jelly to the oatmeal and mix together (after you take a picture of course).

Hope you guys enjoy!

Leave a Reply

